Skip to content

UK – The eagerly anticipated shortlist of lighting designers nominated for the coveted Knight of Illumination Award has been released.

Organised by the ALD, STLD and Clay Paky and now in its fifth year, the Knight of Illumination Awards provides public recognition for outstanding achievements in Lighting Design by lighting designers working on productions in the UK.

Professional reviewers who work in each of the specific categories have agreed the shortlists and the awards will be presented at a glittering ceremony on September 9th at Battersea Evolution, Battersea Park, London.

The shortlists for each category are as follows:

Television – ENTERTAINMENT: Mark Kenyon for Strictly Come Dancing from Wembley; Tom Sutherland for Red Hot Chilli Peppers Live at Koko and Mark Kempton for Not Going Out.

Television – SMALL STUDIO: Tom Kinane for Just a Minute; Rob Mansfield for Masterchef; Iain Davidson for Sky Arts Book Show from Bath Literature Festival

Television – DRAMA: Alan Beech for Preston Passion insert; John Sorapure for The Bleak Old Shop of Stuff; Roger Simonsz for Antigone 34

Television – EVENTS: Mike Sutcliffe for The National TV Awards: Nigel Catmur for The Royal Variety Performance and John Penny Williams for Easter Eucharist.

Rock – STAGE: Chris (Squib) Swain for Bombay Bicycle Club; Dan Hill for Paul Weller; Neil Carson for Chase and Status and Rob Sinclair for Queen with Adam Lambert.

Rock – ARENA: Andy Hurst for the Prodigy; Christopher Bushell for Florence and the Machine and Davy Sherwin for Snow Patrol.

Theatre – DANCE: Lucy Carter for Carbon Life, Royal Ballet; Guy Hoare for The Metamorphosis, Linbury Studio; David Finn for Sweet Violets, Royal Ballet and Fernando Jacon for Pina Bausch season, Sadler’s Wells/Barbican

Theatre – DRAMA: James Farncombe for The Duchess of Malfi, The Old Vic; Howard Harrison for Anna Christie, Donmar Warehouse; David Plater for Richard II, Donmar Warehouse

Theatre – MUSICALS: Neil Austin for Company, Sheffield Crucible; Mark Henderson for Sweeney Todd, Chichester Festival Theatre; Bruno Poet for Coram Boy, Colston Hall, Bristol

Theatre – OPERA: Jean Kalman for Eugene Onegin, English National Opera; Adam Silverman for Norma, Opera North and D.M Wood for Suor Angelica, Royal Opera House

In addition the Enrico Caironi Award for Lifetime Achievement will be announced on the evening of the Awards Ceremony.

The Knight of Illumination Awards would like to congratulate all the shortlisted lighting designers. 2012 year has seen a wealth of fantastic submissions and it has been a tough call. Absolutely every submission this year has shown innovation, imagination and creative use of technology.

With A&O Lighting Technology as exclusive sponsors of the event bar and after dinner get together, KOI Awards 2012 promises to be an exciting and fun evening.

Official Awards Sponsor for the night is Osram, supported by ABTT, ET Now, L&S America, L&SI, PLASA, The Theatres Trust and Women in Stage Entertainment. They join a prestigious 2012 sponsorship role call that includes: AED Rent, Ambersphere, Artistic Licence, Avolites, Cast Lighting, Chauvet, DBN, DWR, ELP, ETC, Gear Source Europe, Green Hippo, Hawthorn, HSL, MA Lighting, PRG, Rosco, Siyan and Wireless Solutions.

For more information about the Knight of Illumination awards visit